Monthly Meetings‎ > ‎

2020-06-09 - #091

Service Innovation for Flourishing


This month our speaker is Dr. Tim Posselt, independent researcher and consultant from Germany with a passion for innovation and value (don't read "money") creation. Tim has close to 10 years experience in applied research and management consulting, having worked as a research associate and manager at Germany's Fraunhofer Institute. Based on his PhD research on Servitization and his experience working with companies from various industries, his approach for service innovation is centered on the realization that conventional business practices are inadequate for creating true value

In his talk, Tim will introduce the service-view on value creation and introduce the concept of institutions - mental shortcuts - as an unexpected source of innovation. As another takeaway for participants, he will present guidelines for the design of flourishing services. Tim is keen to start an initiative of SSBMG members to jointly create new tools for flourishing service innovation. At the end of his talk he will, therefore, invite other members to explore this opportunity together.
  
As usual, we are meeting on the 2nd Tuesday of the month
  • Date: Tuesday, June 9th
  • Time: 90 minutes starting  13h30 PDT (UTC-7) / 16h30 EDT (UTC-4) / 20h30 GMT (UTC+0) / 22h30 CEST (UTC+2) / 05h30 JST (UTC+9 +1 day)

To join the meeting please follow this link: http://meeting.SSBMG.com.

The slides presented plus a link to the unedited recording of this meeting are available via our GoogleDrive in the folder for this months meeting. 

Anyone who joins the LinkedIn forum is considered a member of this group and is welcome to join at the meeting


To introduce his talk, Tim wrote: 

Today’s businesses face unprecedented challenges through the complexity and volatility brought by global forces of change. At the same time, many organizations feel the need for a stronger purpose than simple profit maximization. Conventional practices of innovation and transformation are incapable of producing the desired results, because they are based on a narrow and incomplete notion of value creation. The service-view introduced in this talk presents a way for businesses to reframe outdated approaches to innovation, and points towards exciting opportunities and guidelines for flourishing services.

The link to the recording of the meeting have been posted as a comment to the Linkedin Post about this meeting, along with on-going discussion about the meeting by our members.  A copy of the recording has been stored in the GoogleDrive folder for this months meeting.

Attendance:
  • Tim Posselt - Independent Researcher and Consultant, Desklight Research and Consulting, Germany; SSBMG Community Facilitator
  • Gryph Theriault- Loubier, Creative Commons Canada, Thero
  • Michael Sillion - Captain Future from the Future Navigators in Sweden
  • Lori Farley, cofounder Impact Calgary & Intonovus Canada, Calgary, Alberta; SSBMG Community Facilitator
  • Simon Robinson, Holonomics, São Paulo, Brazil
  • Anita Toma, Green Story, Toronto, Ontario
  • Kelly Okamura, Change Agent, Action Researcher and Project Management at KO& Co. for gooderGoods
  • Vlad Toma, Professor at Conestoga College, Kitchener, Ontario
  • Josh Harrower, Management Consultant @Mendicant, Toronto, Ontario
Comments