Monthly Meetings‎ > ‎

2020-04-14 - #090

Introduction to Biomimicry Thinking for Your Business

This month our speakers are:

Jacques Chirazi is the Director of Student Entrepreneurship at University of California San Diego. He manages the day-to-day operations of the Blackstone Launchpad and The Basement, including oversight, solicitation of grant funding, stewardship, marketing and educational workshops for all student entrepreneurship programs. Through his work with the Biomimicry Institute, Jacques has designed and launched the Biomimicry Launchpad, an accelerator program that helps early-stage entrepreneurs bring nature-inspired solutions to market.

Margo Farnsworth writes and speaks to professionals interested in biomimicry and nature-based solutions. Her work appears in Wildness: Relations of People & Place along with magazines and blogs. Her newest book, Biomimicry & Business: How Companies are Using Nature’s Strategies to Succeed (Routledge/CRC Press) will be available this Fall.


In their talk, Jacques and Margo will share what biomimicry is, and how to do it.  Then, they will share how other companies have gone through the process to apply biomimicry along with what challenges they met along the way before ultimately seeing benefits to profit, planet and people.
  
As usual, we are meeting on the 2nd Tuesday of the month
  • Date: Tuesday, April 14
  • Time: 90 minutes starting  13h30 PDT (UTC-7) / 16h30 EST (UTC-4) / 20h30 GMT (UTC+1) / 21h30 CET (UTC+2) / 05h30 JST (UTC+9 +1 day)

To join the meeting THERE WILL BE NO FACE-TO-FACE MEETINGS UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

Virtual logistics posted to our LinkedIn Group in this post (join the group to access).

The slides presented plus a link to the unedited recording of this meeting is available via our GoogleDrive in the folder for this months meeting. 

Anyone who joins the LinkedIn forum is considered a member of this group and is welcome to join at the meeting


To introduce their talk, the speakers wrote: 

Today’s businesses have ever greater challenges in garnering profit while tending to client and employee well-being and environmental health.  Nature has been solving problems around energy, materials, distribution and production cycles far longer than humans have been on Earth.  An increasing number of companies are looking to nature for strategies to tackle some of their thorniest problems.  Join us as we bring you into the world of biomimicry – what it is, how companies are putting it to work and how you and your business might benefit from nature’s brilliance.

The link to the recording of the meeting has been posted as a comment to the Linkedin Post about this meeting, along with on-going discussion about the meeting by our members.  A copy of the recording has been stored in the GoogleDrive folder for this months meeting.

Attendance list is updated at the event to record attendance (if a location is not provided participant was F2F in Toronto)
  • Margo Farnsworth, The Biomimicry Institute
  • Jacques Chirazi, The Biomimicry Institute
  • Antony Upward,co-founder, Flourishing Enterprise Institute Co-Founder, Convener Flourishing Enterprise Innovation Toolkit ProjectAdjunct Prof. OCAD University Faculty of Design, Adjunct Prof. Halmstad University Department of Innovation Management, Toronto ON
  • Dr. Tim Posselt, SSBMG Community Animator
  • Lori Farley, SSBMG Community Animator, Cofounder Impact Calgary, Cofounder Intonovus Canada, Calgary, Alberta
  • Bill Craig, FlourishX, Edmonton, Canada
  • Norbert Hoeller, Sustainable Innovation Network
  • Gryph Theriault-Loubier, Creative Commons Canada, Thero
  • Andrew Simpson, Ecotone Software Consulting
  • Eric Fath-Kolmes, FlourishX, Groningen, Netherlands
  • Michael Sillion - Captain Future from the Future Navigators in Sweden
  • Vlad Toma, Conestoga College, Toronto, Canada
  • Josh Harrower, Toronto
  • Morris Fedeli, THRIVE, University of South Queensland, Australia
Comments