Monthly Meetings‎ > ‎

2017-11-14 - #065

Refocusing on Transformational Change for Strong Sustainability

We're delighted to be able to announce this month our speaker is member Randy Sa'd, the Executive Director of REFOCUS.  This is an initiative of members of this group (and many others) focused on enabling organizations to manage the complex program of projects required for transformational change towards strongly sustainable outcomes.   One way to think about REFOCUS is that it is the method by which organizations can build transformational capacity, and then use these capabilities to prioritize, plan and manage the program of work required to implement the many facets of strongly sustainable business models.

In his presentation this month we'll get an update on the work of the REFOCUS community of practitioners, including the work they have been doing to apply this approach in practice 

As usual, we are meeting on the 2nd Tuesday of the month
  • Date: Tues Nov 14 
  • Time: 90 minutes starting  13h30 PST / 16h30 EST / 21h30 GMT / 22h30 CET / 06h30 JST (Nov 15)

To join the meeting please see the F2F co-ordinates or virtual logistics posted to our LinkedIn Group in this post.

Anyone who joins the LinkedIn forum is considered a member of this group and is welcome to join at the meeting

Refocusing on Transformational Change for Strong Sustainability


To introduce himself and his talk, Randy wrote:

Most leaders tasked with addressing the sustainability of their organization are frustrated by a lack of support, resources and influence.  While there has been lots of progress reported and recognized across sectors, it’s mainly incremental and far from the trajectory necessary for realizing our climate change goals.  REFOCUS was developed to bring forth a new understanding of the sustainability challenge as well as the competencies and tools that are critical to success.  

Join us for an honest and provocative discussion of what’s not working and what’s needed to advance the sustainability movement.  As a long-time SSBMG project, we will be providing updates on our progress as a newly founded co-operative, including several exciting international partnerships we have established and a pilot that promises to dramatically enhance our solution.  We look forward to very openly sharing about what we have learned through our struggles and successes as well as opportunities for SSBMG community members to get more involved.


The slides presented plus a link to the unedited recording of this meeting is available via our DropBox and GoogleDrive in the folder for this months meeting.  Please contact Prof. Nabil Harfoush for access to the dropbox via the Linkedin Group.

The link to the recording will be posted as a comment to the Linkedin Post about this meeting, along with on-going discussion about the meeting by our members.  A copy of the recording is also stored in the DropBox and GoogleDrive folder for this months meeting.

Attendance list is updated at the event (if a location is not provided participant was F2F in Toronto)
Comments